Associations Honor Officials for Outstanding Service


The Justices of the Peace and Constables Association of Texas (JPCA) and the County and District Clerks’ Association of Texas (CDCAT) and the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association recently honored nine county officials for outstanding service and dedication to their offices and their professional associations.

County Clerk of the Year:


Joyce Hudman, Brazoria County


District Clerk of the Year:


Cathy Stuart, Victoria County


Tax Assessor-Collector of the Year:


Ro’Vin Garrett, Brazoria County


JPCA T.A. Vines Award:


Jackie Miller Jr., Ellis County


Bobby Gutierrez, Williamson County


JPCA Judge of the Year:


Phillip Montgomery, Medina County


JPCA Constable of the Year:


Michael Truitt, Denton County


JPCA Deputy of the Year:


Chuck Copeland, Nacogdoches County 


JPCA Clerk of the Year:


Susan Tyler, Denton County


In addition, the National Constables and Marshals Association honored Harris County Constable Ron Hickman with its Constable of the Year Award in March.