Home / Member Services / Legislative / Legislative News / Speaker Announces House Committees


Speaker Announces House Committees

Speaker Joe Straus announced the House committee assignments for the 83rd Legislature. Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston) will remain chair of the County Affairs Committee. The other members of the committee include vice-chair Joe Farias (D-San Antonio), Rep. Mary Gonzalez (D-Clint), Rep. Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), Rep. Ana Hernandez Luna (D-Houston), Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Rep. David Simpson (R-Longview), Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) and Rep. Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi), who will remain chair of the House Calendars Committee. Other notable appointments to chairs of committees that impact county government include Rep. Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie), who will remain chair of the Appropriations Committee, and Rep. Harvey Hilderbran (R-Kerrville), who will remain chair of the Ways and Means Committee.

Rep. Bill Callegari (R-Houston) will chair the newly created House Committee on Pensions. The Speaker also created a select committee on Criminal Procedure Reform. That committee’s task will be to make recommendations on the reorganization and revision of the Code of Criminal Procedure. It will be chaired by Rep. Debbie Riddle (R-Houston).

To see all of the committee assignments, please follow these links:

Committee appointments listed by member

Committee appointments listed by committee