New faces in the Texas Legislature

A brief introduction to the freshman class of the 87th Legislature

By County magazine staff

  • Share this:

Each new legislative session introduces newly elected members to the Texas House of Representatives and Senate. Most new state senators and representatives are fresh faces; a few are more familiar. 

The 87th Texas Legislature includes four new senators, three of whom previously served as state representatives. One, Republican Drew Springer of Muenster in Cooke County, defeated Dallas salon owner Shelley Luther in a Dec. 19 runoff election. Springer's 

win leaves his House District 68 seat open. A special election was held Jan. 23 to fill it. Republicans David Spiller and Craig Carter will face each other in a Feb. 23 runoff election. 

There are 16 new members of the House, though District 132's Mike Schofield is well-acquainted with the House side of the Texas Capitol. He served two terms as a state representative before losing reelection two years ago. He won the seat back in November when he defeated Democratic state Rep. Gina Calanni in a rematch of their 2018 contest.  

The partisan breakdown in the 150-member Texas House is currently 82 Republicans and 67 Democrats. Springer's District 68 seat is expected to remain in Republican hands, which will leave the party makeup in the House unchanged from the 86th legislative session in 2019. Republicans lost one seat in the 31-member Senate, bringing the party split in the upper chamber to 18 Republicans and 13 Democrats.

Below is a quick look at all the newly elected legislators and the districts and counties they represent. Their social media information is included, as are excerpts from their campaign websites.