2020 TAC RMP safety award recipients announced

County award recipients limited their losses

  • Share this:

The TAC Risk Management Pool (TAC RMP) announced in March the recipients of its 2020 safety awards, recognizing 23 Texas counties and four county staff members who have demonstrated safety in their workplaces. 

The 11 counties that received the Excellence in Safety Award — the highest level of recognition by the Pool — had a loss ratio of 50% or less. The recipients were Brazos County, Chambers County, Cochran County, Colorado County, Comal County, Denton County, Hardin County, Hutchinson County, Jim Wells County, Orange County and Wood County.

The Safety Achievement Award was given to 12 other counties that had a loss ratio of 65% or lower. Those counties were Bandera County, Carson County, Erath County, Garza County, Harrison County, Karnes County, Kerr County, Smith County, Taylor County, Val Verde County, Wichita County and Wise County.

A county’s loss ratio is the ratio of claims paid out and contributions paid in for coverage. This type of claims data is used by TAC risk control consultants as a leading indicator on how the county is managing its risk and overall safety program. The counties that were given the awards are part of the TAC RMP Workers’ Compensation Coverage program. 

Four county staff members also received the Making a Difference Award, recognizing their leadership in promoting loss prevention efforts in their counties that led to a reduction in claims. Recipients of the Making a Difference Award are Loretta Key, Eastland County auditor; Loretta Wallace, Comal County human resources executive office manager/loss control; Kami Webb, Rockwall County human resources director; and Roel Soza Jr., Jim Wells County safety officer. 

TAC RMP has distributed annual safety awards for more than a decade. Award recipients receive plaques and may be formally recognized at their county’s commissioners court meetings.