2021 Risk Pool Awards

  • Share this:

Safety Achievement Award

The Safety Achievement Award is presented to TAC Risk Management Pool Workers Compensation (TAC RMP WC) Program participants who meet a variety of criteria including having a safety program or accident prevention plan and safety policies.

Bandera County
Bosque County
Carson County
Cochran County
Garza County
Gregg County
Hale County
Hunt County
Hutchinson County
Jack County
Kendall County
Lamb County
Llano County
San Patricio County
Smith County
Starr County
Taylor County
Wichita County
Wise County
Young County

Excellence in Safety Award

The Excellence in Safety Award is presented to TAC RMP WC Program participants who have an annual loss ratio of 60% or less, as well as meet a variety of other criteria.

Brazos County
Burnet County
Chambers County
Colorado County
Comal County
Denton County
Hardin County
Harrison County
Hood County
Jim Wells County
Kerr County
Val Verde County
Wood County

Making a Difference Award

Southeast Region:

Sylvia Marquez

San Patricio County safety specialist for the Emergency Management & Safety Department

Since her arrival at the Emergency Management & Safety Department in 2018, Sylvia Marquez has instituted Toolbox Talks with the county departments, which allow staff members to discuss hypothetical and real safety incidents. Marquez also assumed the role of the county’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) coordinator, allowing her to provide six hours of training and consultation to the navigation district and its employees. Marquez also started a CPR certification program for employees and provided training and supplies for Stop the Bleed classes, which give deputies the skills and tools to provide lifesaving aid in an accident.

Northeast Region:

Cody Powell

Wise County emergency management coordinator

As the emergency management coordinator, Cody Powell heads the Wise County drone program. Powell’s efforts are not restricted to Wise County. Rather than using drone technology solely for emergency management purposes, Powell has made a continuous effort to learn how drone technology and the collected data can be an asset to other county functions. In 2021, Powell led an initiative to survey every county building with drone technology.

Southwest Region:

Don Evans

Kendall County road supervisor

Don Evans has served Kendall County for 19 years. During challenging times, he was chosen to lead the county’s road and bridge department. From flagger safety to backhoe operations and work zone safety, Evans used the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) and TAC RMP’s Accident Prevention Safety program to accomplish his training goals, and he has scheduled 12 more safety classes for 2022. Evans implemented monthly employee breakfasts to provide training and encourage teamwork in his department.

Northwest Region:

Jerry Yarbrough

Lamb County Treasurer

Jerry Yarbrough leads the effort to take Lamb County’s safety program to the next level. Under her leadership, Lamb County has an excellent workers’ compensation loss ratio of 19% for 2021. General liability and property coverage lines have not incurred a loss in three years. Yarbrough implemented a FMLA tracking system that determines the necessary qualifiers for intermittent and continuous leaves. Yarbrough has helped reduce workers’ compensation costs significantly by encouraging injured employees to modify work during their recovery.

2021 Zero Lost Time Safety Award

The Zero Lost Time Safety Award is presented to TAC RMP members who participate in the Workers’ Compensation Program and whose employees have experienced no lost time workdays during the previous year.

2nd 25th Judicial District CSCD
Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization
Anderson County
Aransas County Appraisal District
Archer County
Baylor County
Blanco County
Blanco County Appraisal District
Borden County Appraisal District
Brewster County
Briscoe County
Cameron County Emergency Communication District
Childress 100th Judicial District
Chillicothe Hospital
Clay County
Cochran County
Coke County
Coleman County
Collingsworth County
Colorado County WCID No. 2
Comanche County
Cooke County
Cottle County Appraisal District
Crane County
Crosby County
Dallam County
Dallam County Appraisal District
Dawson County
Delta County
Dickens County
Donley County
Eastland County
Erath County
Fannin County
Fisher County
Fisher County Appraisal District
Floyd County
Floyd County Juvenile Probation
Franklin County
Gaines County
Garza County Health Care District
Glasscock County
Greater Harris County 911
Guadalupe Appraisal District
Hamilton County
Hansford County
Hansford County Soil Conservation
Hardeman County
Hartley County
Haskell County
Haskell County Emergency Medical Services
Hemphill County Appraisal District
Housing Authority of Duval County
Jackson County - County Wide Drainage District
Jeff Davis County
Jim Hogg County
Jim Wells County
Jones County
Kenedy County Central Appraisal District
Kerr County
Knox County
Knox County Appraisal District
Lamb County Appraisal District
Lavaca County Senior Citizens Program
Liberty County Central Appraisal District
Loving County
Loving County Appraisal District
Lynn County
Maverick County Hospital District
McMullen County
Medina County
Menard County
Middle Pecos Groundwater Conservation District
Mills County
Montgomery Central Appraisal District
Moore County
Nueces County
Hospital District
Ochiltree County
Old River Drainage District
Oldham County
Palo Pinto County
Panola County
Port Freeport
Potter Randall Appraisal District
Presidio County
Rains County
Real County
Refugio County Appraisal District
Refugio County Drainage District 1
Regional Public Defender’s Office
Roberts County
Robertson County
Sabine County
San Augustine County
San Jacinto County Appraisal District
San Saba County
Schleicher County Appraisal District
Shackelford County
Stephens County
Stonewall County
Sutton County Appraisal District
Sweetwater-Nolan County Health Department
Tarrant Appraisal District
Trinity County
Upper Sabine Valley Solid Waste District
Val Verde County Appraisal District
Victoria County Drainage District 3
Wheeler County
Whitehead Memorial Museum
Wichita-Wilbarger 911 District
Wichita County
Wilbarger County
Willacy County Appraisal District
Willacy County Housing Authority
Williamson Central Appraisal District
Winkler County
Yoakum County Appraisal District
Young County
Young County Appraisal District