When Fireworks Can Be Sold


When may fireworks be sold, and what authority does the commissioners court have to regulate them?​

The State of Texas authorizes the sale of fireworks during six periods annually. During the Fourth of July, Cinco de Mayo (some counties), and December holiday firework periods, fireworks sales are permitted absent a finding by the commissioners court that drought conditions exist. For the Texas Independence Day, San Jacinto Day, and Memorial Day fireworks periods, the commissioners court has discretion as to whether or not sales will be allowed. See the 2018 Fireworks Calendar for specific dates.