DPS May Close 87 Local Driver License Offices

August 22, 2018
By TAC Staff
Legislative News

  • Share this:

Sunset Commission staff and various state agencies are filing their recommendations for consideration by the Commission which is scheduled to meet Aug. 29 and 30.

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is among the agencies under review this year, and one of the recommendations has been to require DPS to “develop and implement a plan to close inefficient driver license offices.” That charge has resulted in a staff recommendation to close 87 driver license offices across the state with most of those being the only driver license office in the county.

Jim Allison, General Counsel for the County Judges and Commissioners Association of Texas, has shared his correspondence of Aug. 9 to Commission members.

It should be noted that neither the Commission nor the Legislature have taken any action at this time to begin closures.  In fact, eight senators and 16 state representatives have written a letter to Sen. Brian Birdwell (R-Grandbury), Sunset Commission Chair, to present arguments against these closures. As a result of contacts already made by many local elected officials, it is anticipated that one of the Commission members may offer an amendment at next week’s meeting to strike this proposal from any final recommendation

Make Your Voice Heard

Now is the time to contact members of the Sunset Commission and your local legislators to share your concerns over the proposed closures. It should be noted that neither the Commission nor the legislature have taken any action at this time to begin closures.

An overview on “How to Participate” in the Sunset process is available at the Commission’s website.

Public input for agencies under review may be submitted online and select “Department of Public Safety (DPS)” from the dropdown menu.

Comments may also be directed to members of the Sunset Commission. As always, be sure to copy your local legislators with any communications.

Lastly, let your constituents know about the possibility of these closures, and how it will affect them. Share this article on Facebook and Twitter.

Sunset Commission

Member Email Mailing Address
Chair Sen.
Brian Birdwell
Brian.Birdwell@senate.texas.gov 1315 Waters Edge Dr.
Suite 116-2
Granbury, TX 76048
Vice Chair
Rep. Chris Paddie
Chris.Paddie@house.texas.gov 102 W. Houston St.
Marshall, TX 75670
Sen. Dawn Buckingham Dawn.Buckingham@senate.texas.gov 819 Water St.
Suite 125
Kerrville, TX 78028
Rep. Dan Flynn Dan.Flynn@house.texas.gov P.O. Box 999
Canton, TX 75103
Sen. Bob Hall Bob.Hall@senate.texas.gov 6537 Horizon Rd.
Suite B-1
Rockwall, TX 75032
Rep. Stan Lambert Stan.Lambert@house.texas.gov 547 Chestnut
Abilene, TX 79602
Rep. Poncho Nevarez Poncho.Nevarez@house.texas.gov 1995 Williams St.
Eagle Pass, TX 78852
Sen. Robert Nichols Robert.Nichols@senate.texas.gov 329 Neches St.
Jacksonville, TX 75766
Rep. Senfronia Thompson Senfronia.Thompson@house.texas.gov 10527 Homestead Rd.
Houston, TX 77016
Sen. Kirk Watson Kirk.Watson@senate.texas.gov P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
Public Member
Emily Pataki
  P.O. Box 13066
Austin, TX 78711
Public Member
Ronald G. Steinhart
  P.O. Box 13066
Austin, TX 78711