Sunset Commission Hits "Delete" on Recommendation to Close 87 Driver License Offices

September 07, 2018
By Rhita Koches
Legislative News

  • Share this:

A resounding protest by county officials proved successful in defeating a DPS staff recommendation to close many driver license offices. The overwhelming outcry was picked up by media across the state last week just prior to the Sunset Commission’s meeting.

Ahead of the meeting, commission members and other legislators signaled their opposition to the proposal which focused on closing “inefficient driver license offices,” many of which were the only sites located in rural counties.

As a result, the Sunset Commission voted unanimously on Aug. 30 to remove the recommendation from its final report.

The Sunset process begins with an agency self-evaluation report followed by a Sunset Commission staff report. The commission’s deliberation includes a public hearing to discuss the report and take public testimony. The commission then meets again to vote on its recommendations to the full legislature.

In its decision summary, the commission rejected the proposed closures but continued with its recommendation to transfer the driver license program from the Department of Public Safety to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles under certain circumstances.

Beware: The legislature will consider the commission’s recommendations during next year’s session, and closures as well as any other agency processes will be open for discussion.

However, you asked and they responded.

Now is the time to go back to commission members and your local legislators to thank them for standing up for your constituents.

The Commission’s next meeting is tentatively scheduled for Nov. 14-15, 2018.

 

Sunset Commission    
  Member
Email Mailing Address
Chair Sen. Brian Birdwell
Brian.Birdwell@senate.texas.gov 1315 Waters Edge Dr.
Suite 116-2
Granbury, TX 76048
Vice Chair Rep. Chris Paddie
Chris.Paddie@house.texas.gov 102 W. Houston St.
Marshall, TX 75670
  Sen. Dawn Buckingham
Dawn.Buckingham@senate.texas.gov 819 Water St.
Suite 125
Kerrville, TX 78028
  Rep. Dan Flynn
Dan.Flynn@house.texas.gov P.O. Box 999
Canton, TX 75103
  Sen. Bob Hall
Bob.Hall@senate.texas.gov 6537 Horizon Rd.
Suite B-1
Rockwall, TX 75032
  Rep. Stan Lambert
Stan.Lambert@house.texas.gov 547 Chestnut
Abilene, TX 79602
  Rep. Poncho Nevarez
Poncho.Nevarez@house.texas.gov 1995 Williams St.
Eagle Pass, TX 78852
  Sen. Robert Nichols
Robert.Nichols@senate.texas.gov 329 Neches St.
Jacksonville, TX 75766
  Rep. Senfronia Thompson
Senfronia.Thompson@house.texas.gov 10527 Homestead Rd.
Houston, TX 77016
  Sen. Kirk Watson
Kirk.Watson@senate.texas.gov P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
Public Member Emily Pataki
  P.O. Box 13066
Austin, TX 78711
Public Member Ronald G. Steinhart
  P.O Box 13066
Austin, TX 78711