Tax Assessor-Collectors Attend V.G. Young School

December 10, 2021

Legislative News

  • Share this:

Tax Assessor-Collectors and staff attended the 39th Annual V.G. Young School for County Tax Assessor-Collectors in November in Round Rock. The agenda included robust discussions on a variety of changes resulting from the 87th Legislature’s regular and three special sessions. Subjects discussed included statutory changes to voter registration, vehicle title and registration, and property tax laws.

The closing general session featured Rep. Hugh Shine (R-Houston), who provided an overview of his property tax legislation, key takeaways from the multiple legislative sessions and what he believes we can anticipate moving forward. Following his remarks, the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of Texas (TACA) presented him with a Legislative Leadership Award for his support in working with tax assessors on legislative issues.

TACA also named Jefferson County Tax Assessor-Collector Allison Nathan Getz 2021’s Tax Assessor-Collector of the Year. Other nominees for the award included:

  • Sherri Aylor, Potter County
  • Michelle French, Denton County
  • Larry Gaddes, Williamson County
  • Cheryl Johnson, Galveston County
  • Kevin Kieschnick, Nueces County
  • Sherry Mueck, Milam County
  • Mary Sandoval, Dimmit County
  • Dawn Vieth, Archer County
  • Donna Willis, Lynn County

Congratulations to Ms. Getz on her award and to all the nominees.

For more information about this article, please contact Katy Estrada.

Bell County Tax Assessor-Collector Shay Luedeke presents state Rep. Hugh Shine with a Legislative Leadership Award from the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of Texas. Allison Nathan Getz