Month in Review: A Digest of What Happened This Month at the Capitol

Impeached Paxton awaits his political fate in the Texas Senate; the list of state lawmakers not seeking reelection next year grows.

September 15, 2023

Legislative News

  • Share this:

Paxton Impeachment Trial Continues in Senate

Suspended from his office and duties as the state's top lawyer since his May impeachment by the House of Representatives, Attorney General Ken Paxton awaits a Senate decision on corruption allegations against him – a decision that could be imminent.

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick is the presiding officer for Paxton's impeachment trial. Senators form the jury, with the exception of Paxton's wife, Sen. Angela Paxton (R-McKinney), who is present for the trial but excluded from closed door deliberations and voting.

Paxton faces 16 articles of impeachment. The trial commenced Sept. 5 and has progressed steadily, with Patrick telling senators on Sept. 11 that the trial could be over by week's end. A two-thirds majority vote – 21 senators – will decide each article of impeachment. A vote to impeach on any article will grant House impeachment managers authority to order a vote to disqualify Paxton from future office, a vote that also would require a two-thirds majority.

List of Officeholders Not Seeking Reelection Grows

The list of lawmakers sure not to return for the 89th Legislature, convening in January 2025, continues to grow. Since our last update, the following House members have announced they will not seek reelection:

  • Rep. Charles "Doc" Anderson (R-Waco), House District 56.
  • Rep. John Raney (R-College Station), House District 14.
  • Rep. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), House District 6.
  • Rep. Carl Sherman (D-DeSoto), House District 109.
  • Rep. Ed Thompson (R-Pearland), House District 29.

They join the following group, who earlier announced they would not return:

  • Rep. Abel Herrero (D-Robstown), House District 34.
  • Rep. Julie Johnson (D-Farmers Branch), House District 115.
  • Rep. Tracy King (D-Uvalde), House District 80.
  • Rep. Evelina "Lina" Ortega (D-El Paso), House District 77.
  • Rep. Four Price (R-Amarillo), House District 87.

Prospective replacements must file for a place on the primary ballot by Dec. 16. Other key election dates may be found on the Secretary of State's website.

Additionally, a Nov. 7 special election will determine which of six candidates will next represent House District 2, vacated when the House expelled Bryan Slaton of Royse City.

2023 Legislative Analysis Report Available for Order

Printed copies of the Texas Association of Counties' 2023 Legislative Analysis Report are now available for order. The free report summarizes legislation passed by the 88th Texas Legislature that affects counties. Order your copies here.

A digital version of the 2023 Legislative Analysis Report can be found at

For more information about this article, please contact Pete Winckler.