Skip to Content (custom)
Texas Association of Counties
Toggle Navigation (custom)

    County Magazine

    Spring 2022

    Blog | April 29, 2022

    2021 Risk Pool Awards

    Health & Benefits News

    Safety Achievement Award

    The Safety Achievement Award is presented to TAC Risk Management Pool Workers Compensation (TAC RMP WC) Program participants who meet a variety of criteria including having a safety program or accident prevention plan and safety policies.

    Bandera County
    Bosque County
    Carson County
    Cochran County
    Garza County
    Gregg County
    Hale County
    Hunt County
    Hutchinson County
    Jack County
    Kendall County
    Lamb County
    Llano County
    San Patricio County
    Smith County
    Starr County
    Taylor County
    Wichita County
    Wise County
    Young County

    Excellence in Safety Award

    The Excellence in Safety Award is presented to TAC RMP WC Program participants who have an annual loss ratio of 60% or less, as well as meet a variety of other criteria.

    Brazos County
    Burnet County
    Chambers County
    Colorado County
    Comal County
    Denton County
    Hardin County
    Harrison County
    Hood County
    Jim Wells County
    Kerr County
    Val Verde County
    Wood County

    Making a Difference Award

    Southeast Region:

    Sylvia Marquez

    San Patricio County safety specialist for the Emergency Management & Safety Department

    Since her arrival at the Emergency Management & Safety Department in 2018, Sylvia Marquez has instituted Toolbox Talks with the county departments, which allow staff members to discuss hypothetical and real safety incidents. Marquez also assumed the role of the county’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) coordinator, allowing her to provide six hours of training and consultation to the navigation district and its employees. Marquez also started a CPR certification program for employees and provided training and supplies for Stop the Bleed classes, which give deputies the skills and tools to provide lifesaving aid in an accident.

    Northeast Region:

    Cody Powell

    Wise County emergency management coordinator

    As the emergency management coordinator, Cody Powell heads the Wise County drone program. Powell’s efforts are not restricted to Wise County. Rather than using drone technology solely for emergency management purposes, Powell has made a continuous effort to learn how drone technology and the collected data can be an asset to other county functions. In 2021, Powell led an initiative to survey every county building with drone technology.

    Southwest Region:

    Don Evans

    Kendall County road supervisor

    Don Evans has served Kendall County for 19 years. During challenging times, he was chosen to lead the county’s road and bridge department. From flagger safety to backhoe operations and work zone safety, Evans used the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) and TAC RMP’s Accident Prevention Safety program to accomplish his training goals, and he has scheduled 12 more safety classes for 2022. Evans implemented monthly employee breakfasts to provide training and encourage teamwork in his department.

    Northwest Region:

    Jerry Yarbrough

    Lamb County Treasurer

    Jerry Yarbrough leads the effort to take Lamb County’s safety program to the next level. Under her leadership, Lamb County has an excellent workers’ compensation loss ratio of 19% for 2021. General liability and property coverage lines have not incurred a loss in three years. Yarbrough implemented a FMLA tracking system that determines the necessary qualifiers for intermittent and continuous leaves. Yarbrough has helped reduce workers’ compensation costs significantly by encouraging injured employees to modify work during their recovery.

    2021 Zero Lost Time Safety Award

    The Zero Lost Time Safety Award is presented to TAC RMP members who participate in the Workers’ Compensation Program and whose employees have experienced no lost time workdays during the previous year.

    2nd 25th Judicial District CSCD
    Alamo Area Metropolitan Planning Organization
    Anderson County
    Aransas County Appraisal District
    Archer County
    Baylor County
    Blanco County
    Blanco County Appraisal District
    Borden County Appraisal District
    Brewster County
    Briscoe County
    Cameron County Emergency Communication District
    Childress 100th Judicial District
    Chillicothe Hospital
    Clay County
    Cochran County
    Coke County
    Coleman County
    Collingsworth County
    Colorado County WCID No. 2
    Comanche County
    Cooke County
    Cottle County Appraisal District
    Crane County
    Crosby County
    Dallam County
    Dallam County Appraisal District
    Dawson County
    Delta County
    Dickens County
    Donley County
    Eastland County
    Erath County
    Fannin County
    Fisher County
    Fisher County Appraisal District
    Floyd County
    Floyd County Juvenile Probation
    Franklin County
    Gaines County
    Garza County Health Care District
    Glasscock County
    Greater Harris County 911
    Guadalupe Appraisal District
    Hamilton County
    Hansford County
    Hansford County Soil Conservation
    Hardeman County
    Hartley County
    Haskell County
    Haskell County Emergency Medical Services
    Hemphill County Appraisal District
    Housing Authority of Duval County
    Jackson County - County Wide Drainage District
    Jeff Davis County
    Jim Hogg County
    Jim Wells County
    Jones County
    Kenedy County Central Appraisal District
    Kerr County
    Knox County
    Knox County Appraisal District
    Lamb County Appraisal District
    Lavaca County Senior Citizens Program
    Liberty County Central Appraisal District
    Loving County
    Loving County Appraisal District
    Lynn County
    Maverick County Hospital District
    McMullen County
    Medina County
    Menard County
    Middle Pecos Groundwater Conservation District
    Mills County
    Montgomery Central Appraisal District
    Moore County
    Nueces County
    Hospital District
    Ochiltree County
    Old River Drainage District
    Oldham County
    Palo Pinto County
    Panola County
    Port Freeport
    Potter Randall Appraisal District
    Presidio County
    Rains County
    Real County
    Refugio County Appraisal District
    Refugio County Drainage District 1
    Regional Public Defender’s Office
    Roberts County
    Robertson County
    Sabine County
    San Augustine County
    San Jacinto County Appraisal District
    San Saba County
    Schleicher County Appraisal District
    Shackelford County
    Stephens County
    Stonewall County
    Sutton County Appraisal District
    Sweetwater-Nolan County Health Department
    Tarrant Appraisal District
    Trinity County
    Upper Sabine Valley Solid Waste District
    Val Verde County Appraisal District
    Victoria County Drainage District 3
    Wheeler County
    Whitehead Memorial Museum
    Wichita-Wilbarger 911 District
    Wichita County
    Wilbarger County
    Willacy County Appraisal District
    Willacy County Housing Authority
    Williamson Central Appraisal District
    Winkler County
    Yoakum County Appraisal District
    Young County
    Young County Appraisal District