Counties, Staff Honored for 2016 Workplace Safety Efforts



The Texas Association of Counties Risk Management Pool (TAC RMP) has recognized more than a dozen counties and three county staff through its 2016 Safety Awards Program for their efforts to promote safety in the workplace. 

Safety Award Recipients

This award aims to promote a commitment to employee safety in the workplace by recognizing those counties that have instituted or maintained quality risk control programs.

Duval County, Erath County, Madison County, Smith County

Gold Star Awards Recipients

This award recognizes counties with an active safety program that have met the safety award criteria for two consecutive years. These counties have expanded on the minimum criteria requirements and have diligently worked to engage with management or governing body to obtain and maintain support for employee safety and risk control programs.

Burnet County, Chambers County, Cochran County, Denton County, Gregg County, Hardin County, Jim Wells County, Kendall County, Kerr County, Montague County, Nueces County, San Patricio County, Taylor County, Val Verde County

Making a Difference Awards Recipients

This award is presented to an individual who exhibits strong leadership in promoting risk control efforts within the workplace, not limited to safety. Candidates for the award can be any employee whose dedication or creativity has positively affected risk management efforts within the county or organization from line employees to management, as well as elected or appointed officials.

Don Farmer, Precinct 2 foreman, Wichita County

Armandina Martinez, benefits coordinator, Starr County

Velma W. McGlothin, human resources director, Harrison County


safety3' copy.png


 Feature Stories


 News & Columns