Home / Member Services / Education & Training / Ready to Register / 89th Annual West Texas County Judges and Commissioners Association Conference

Back to Events

89th Annual West Texas County Judges and Commissioners Association Conference

April 24, 2018
April 27, 2018

7600 John Q. Hammons Dr. 
Frisco, TX 75034
(972) 712-7200

If special accommodations are needed, please contact at (800) 456-5974.

Education Co-Sponsor

The V.G. Young Institute of County Government, a part of the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, serves as the education program co-sponsor for this conference.


Our 2018 conference will provide valuable information on road and bridge matters, renewable energy, oil and gas, legislative updates and other timely topics that affect your daily operations as an elected official. This event also offers a great opportunity to get together with fellow judges and commissioners from West Texas and across the state.

The conference agenda was crafted to include the latest information on hot topics in county government, as well as advanced curriculum sessions. But not all of the learning will take place in the classroom. You may also choose to network with other officials during the golf, domino or pool tournaments on Thursday afternoon or during events such as the Exhibitor Appreciation Reception and the Dinner and Dance on Tuesday, the Host Court Night on Wednesday and the Installation Luncheon on Thursday, among others.


Naming the County Official of the Year and the Distinguished Service Award recipients is always a highlight of the conference. Nominations for these awards may be sent to the West Texas County Judges and Commissioners Association: President , Bailey County Judge, 300 S. First St., Ste. 100, Muleshoe, TX 79347-3621.
Another tradition of this Association is the annual scholarship program​. College scholarships in the amounts of $1,500, $1,000 and $750 will be awarded to three applicants during the conference. The application deadline is April 3, 2018. To be eligible for scholarship consideration, applicants must be a child, grandchild or individual under the legal guardianship of a current West Texas County judge or commissioner. All applicants must also be a current resident of a county in the West Texas region, as well as a graduating senior of the class of 2018 from a high school within the 118-county West Texas region. View​ for the scholarship program application.

Spouse Activities

Activities for spouses will be arranged for Wednesday. More details, when final, can be found on the ​Scheduled Activities page.

Continuing Education

An application is pending approval for 14 continuing education hours for commissioners. Four judicial education credit hours for judges have been approved. Four additional hours will be offered on Tuesday, April 24, during the early bird session.

Door Prize

Please remember to bring a door prize.

Vendor Information

For information on vendor registration, please go to the County Progress Website or contact or .

Sponsor Information

For information on sponsorship opportunities please contact the Bailey County Judge  or call (806) 272-3077.

Association Officers

Hon. Sherri Harrison, President
Bailey County Judge

Hon. Tim Addison, First Vice President
Yoakum County Commissioner

Hon. Rex Fields, Second Vice President
Eastland County Judge

Hon. Bill McCay, Past-President
Lubbock County Commissioner 

Association Directors

Hon. John Nanny
Irion County Commissioner

Hon. Glen Whitley
Tarrant County Judge

Hon. Kirk Frye
Parmer County Commissioner​​​​