Skip to Content (custom)
Texas Association of Counties
Toggle Navigation (custom)

    Legislative Services

    County Issues Newsletter | December 2022

    News Article | December 16, 2022

    Republicans Again Sweep Statewide Offices

    Legislative News | County News
    Legislative Services

    Going into November's general election, it had been 28 years since a Democrat won a statewide election. Barring a special election, that streak will extend to 30 years as no Democrat seeking statewide office bested their Republican opponent on Nov. 8. Gov. Greg Abbott, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, Comptroller Glenn Hegar, Attorney General Ken Paxton, Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian and Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller all comfortably won reelection. The only open statewide seat, for Land Commissioner, will be filled by Sen. Dawn Buckingham.

    Republicans also fared well in contests to set the Capitol's roster. In the Texas House of Representatives, Republicans increased their majority by one and will enter the upcoming legislative session with 86 seats to the Democrats' 64. The majority also increased in the Senate, where Republicans grew their margin by one, for a 19 to 12 advantage.

    Below is a list of all newly elected members of the Legislature.

    Rep. Phil King (R-Weatherford), Senate District 10
    Rep. Mayes Middleton (R-Galveston), SD 11
    Rep. Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound), SD 12
    Pete Flores (R-Pleasanton), SD 24
    Morgan LaMantia (D-Brownsville), SD 27
    Kevin Sparks (R-Midland), SD 31

    Angelia Orr (R-Itasca), House District 13
    Stan Gerdes (R-Smithville), HD 17
    Ellen Troxclair (R-Lakeway), HD 19
    Terri Leo Wilson (R-Galveston), HD 23
    Janie Lopez (R-San Benito), HD 37
    Maria Luisa "Lulu" Flores (D-Austin), HD 51
    Caroline Harris (R-Round Rock), HD 52
    Richard Hayes (R-Denton), HD 57
    Frederick Frazier (R-McKinney), HD 61
    Ben Bumgarner (R-Flower Mound), HD 63
    Kronda Thimesch (R-Carrollton), HD 65
    Mihaela Elizabeth Plesa (D-Dallas), HD 70
    Carrie Isaac (R-Dripping Springs), HD 73
    Suleman Lalani (D-Sugar Land), HD 76
    Carl Tepper (R-Lubbock), HD 84
    Stan Kitzman (R-Wharton), HD 85
    Salman Bhojani (D-Euless), HD 92
    Nate Schatzline (R-Fort Worth), HD 93
    Venton C. Jones (D-Dallas), HD 100
    John Bryant (D-Dallas), HD 114
    Mark Dorazio (R-San Antonio), HD 122
    Josey Garcia (D-San Antonio), HD 124
    Charles Cunningham (R-Humble), HD 127
    Mano DeAyala (R-Houston), HD 133

    Full election results are available on the Secretary of State's website. House and Senate websites will be updated when the 88th Legislature convenes, and all members take the oath of office on Jan. 10.

    For more information on this article, please contact Pete Winckler.