Skip to Content (custom)
Texas Association of Counties
Toggle Navigation (custom)

    Legislative Services

    County Issues Newsletter | July 2022

    News Article | July 28, 2022

    With ‘Onward Together’ as Their Theme, JPs and Constables Gather for Annual Conference

    County Magazine | Legislative News
    Legislative Services

    JPCA’s new executive board members and district directors take their oaths of office.
     (Credit: Kelsey Bernstein)

    The Justices of the Peace and Constables Association of Texas (JPCA) held its annual conference June 27-July 1 in College Station. More than 240 attendees took part in a full slate of education sessions and fun events.

    Rep. John Raney (R-Bryan) addresses JPCA members at the
    installation banquet. (Credit: Kelsey Bernstein)

    Before the conference began, JPCA held a competitive golf tournament. The kick-off to the conference was a welcome reception held at the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library & Museum. Attendees had a wonderful time networking and exploring the library exhibits. The following days consisted of educational classes, including a legislative update from Reps. John Raney (R-Bryan) and Kyle Kacal (R-College Station). There were multiple fun-filled nights consisting of live music and a Forty-Two domino tournament.

    During the installation banquet, Tarrant County Pct. 5 Justice of the Peace Sergio De Leon was sworn in as JPCA's new president. Other executive board members and the district directors were also sworn in.

    JPCA members enjoy a golf tournament before the
    conference began. (Credit: Kelsey Bernstein)

    JPCA’s talented musicians play during the association's
    jam session.  (Credit: Kelsey Bernstein)

    The banquet also featured presentations to the 2022 JPCA award winners:

    • T.A. Vines Award: Hon. Luz Paiz, Jim Wells County Justice of the Peace, Precinct 5.
    • Judge of the Year: Hon. Amber King, Loving County Justice of the Peace.
    • Constable of the Year: Hon. Kevin Mayberry, Fannin County Constable, Precinct 3.
    • Clerk of the Year: Ms. Leesa Lane, Collin County Court Administrator.
    • Sweetheart Awards: Ms. Teresa Koch, Medina County Chief Court Clerk, and Mr. Eldon "Lee" Dunn, Hidalgo County Constable's Office Sergeant.
    • Best Practices Award: Hon. Rowdy Hayden, Montgomery County Constable, Precinct 4.

    TAC congratulates the award winners and association's new officers. We look forward to continuing our support for the organization and its members.

    For more information on this article, please contact Kelsey Bernstein.

    Rep. Kyle Kacal (R-College Station) with JPCA President Sergio De Leon and members of the
    JPCA Legislative Committee. (Credit: Kelsey Bernstein)