Skip to Content (custom)
Texas Association of Counties
Toggle Navigation (custom)

    Legislative Services

    County Issues Newsletter | October 2022

    News Article | October 27, 2022

    County Auditors Gather in Denton County for Annual Conference

    County News | Legislative News
    Legislative Services

    At its recently completed 77th Annual Fall Conference, the Texas Association of County Auditors (TACA) installed a new President and Board of Directors for the 2022-23 term.

    Two years ago, COVID-19 safety considerations forced 2020’s conference to a virtual format. While it provided a platform to earn required continuing education hours, the camaraderie of a live event was sorely missed. Perhaps unsurprisingly, 2021’s conference saw record attendance, with more than 150 members in attendance. This year’s conference surpassed that total, with nearly 200 gathering for the four-day program in Denton from Oct. 11 to 14.

    Attendees earned continuing education hours in seminars featuring 23 speakers discussing topics ranging from an economic update to conflict management to a case study of record mismanagement. The social and networking aspects of the program included the annual President’s Dinner Banquet, at which the incoming Board of Directors was sworn in and the President’s gavel was passed from Guadalupe County Auditor Kris Klein to her successor, San Patricio County Auditor David Wendel.

    In her final action as TACA President, Klein delivered closing remarks and offered special commendation to two members for their exemplary performance over the past year. Houston County Auditor Melissa Jeter was Klein’s selection for the Jerry Ware Award and Erath County First Assistant Auditor Kay McLearen was her choice for the Denise Linch Award.

    A final action of note is Galveston County Auditor Randall Rice’s presentation of a special award, not given annually, but only when the last recipient determines a county auditor has made outsize impact benefitting county auditors statewide. Rice had waited since 2016 to select the next recipient, until 2022 brought a candidate he was sure merited such recognition. Lauding his service to all county offices, but especially to county auditors, Rice announced his selection of Tom Green County Auditor and TAC Board President Nathan Cradduck as his successor for the Pioneer Award.

    We at the Texas Association of Counties congratulate the awardees, President David Wendel, and the entire new TACA Board of Directors.

    For more information about this article, please contact Pete Winckler.