Skip to Content (custom)
Texas Association of Counties
Toggle Navigation (custom)

    Spring Judicial Education Session

    • March 27, 2024 - March 29, 2024
    • 08:00 AM - 11:30 AM
    • Overton Hotel & Conference Center
      2322 Mac Davis Ln.
      Lubbock, TX 79401
    • Contact Ashley Royer or Regan Williams at (800) 456‑5974.
    • Contact Us
    Spring Judicial Education Session

    Sponsored by:

    The Texas Judicial Academy is a partnership between the Texas Association of Counties and the Texas Tech University School of Law.


    The Spring Judicial Education Session of the Texas Judicial Academy will give you an excellent opportunity to learn and connect with judges from across the state and discuss a wide range of topics that impact your judicial duties. The County Judges Education Advisory Committee has specifically designed the curriculum and discussion points for current constitutional county judges. The curriculum will include an in-depth review of core topics, address other topics of interest and introduce you to several new, cutting-edge programs being used successfully in other jurisdictions.

    Who Should Attend

    County Judges

    To encourage open discussion and to facilitate security, ONLY member judges, that session's speaker and TAC staff will be allowed in the meeting rooms during sessions. This would apply, for example, to guests, assistants, spouses, etc. Thank you in advance for your cooperation with this policy.


    This program is partially funded by a Judicial and Court Personnel Training Fund Grant administered by the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals and a Texas Traffic Safety Program grant administered by the Texas Department of Transportation. In accordance with the grant guidelines, judges may be reimbursed for attendance to the Fall Judicial Education Session or the Spring Judicial Education Session, up to $750 total per fiscal year.

    All travel reservations made through third party vendors (,,, etc.) cannot be reimbursed. For more information on reimbursement, please contact Ashley Royer at (800) 456‑5974.

    Reimbursements must be submitted to TAC within 60 days of the event. Any reimbursement received after 60 days will not be reimbursed.

    Reimbursement may be provided for county judges only.

    Registration Information

    The registration fee for this conference is $150. Enrollment is subject to the receipt of registration fees from each participant. The tuition portion of the registration fee is $60 and provides for program costs and meals. Pursuant to grant conditions, tuition will be returned to the grant to be spent as restricted funds. The TAC overhead assessment fee portion of the registration fee is $90 and is a voluntary fee deposited into TAC's private fund account and is used for unrestricted program-related expenses that the grant cannot cover. If you or your county cannot pay these fees, please email Regan Williams to receive a waiver.

    If you have any questions, please call TAC Judicial Education at (800) 456‑5974.

    County Judges Education Advisory Committee

    Hon. Stephanie Davis, Chair, Comanche County Judge
    Hon. Brett Bray, Blanco County Judge
    Hon. Juan Carlos Guerra, Jim Hogg County Judge
    Hon. Lisa Johnson, Hemphill County Judge
    Hon. Justin Lewis, Hill County Judge
    Hon. Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge
    Hon. Curtis Parrish, Lubbock County Judge
    Hon. Byron Ryder, Leon County Judge
    Hon. Jimmy Sylvia, Chambers County Judge
    Ms. Jamie Baker, Associate Dean and Director of the Law Library, Texas Tech University School of Law Library (ex-officio)
    Hon. Tim Addison, TAC President, Yoakum County Commissioner (ex-officio)