Skip to Content (custom)
Texas Association of Counties
Toggle Navigation (custom)

    TAC Risk Management Pool

    ​The Texas Association of Counties Risk Management Pool (TAC RMP) has provided counties with a stable, sustainable resource of protection against risks and liabilities for more than 45 years.

    Programs | May 09, 2023

    TAC RMP Awards Program

    The TAC Risk Management Pool (TAC RMP) Awards Program rewards and recognizes member counties and governmental entities for their commitment to controlling claims costs and developing and improving safety and loss control programs. Some require submission of applications. TAC RMP has presented these awards for more than a decade.

    Applications Accepted Aug. 1-Nov. 30

    Applications are required for the 2023 Safety Achievement Award and the 2023 Excellence in Safety Award and will be accepted Aug. 1-Nov. 30, 2023.

    Apply Now

    Recognition of Recipients

    Recipients of the Safety Achievement, the Excellence in Safety and the Making a Difference awards are honored during a special dinner held during the annual TAC County Management and Risk Conference. Award recipients will also be reimbursed for a hotel room during the conference. This is in addition to the reimbursement TAC provides to two Pool members per county for most travel expenses incurred to attend the conference.


    Safety Achievement Award

    An application is required for this award (formerly the Safety Award). It will be presented to TAC RMP Workers’ Compensation (WC) Program participants that demonstrate they have met the criteria below:

    • TAC RMP member in the WC Program during the award year and the next year
    • Safety Program or Accident Prevention Plan
      Safety Programs or Accident Prevention Plans should be well-documented and must include the following minimum components. See the sample implementation guide to assist you in the preparation of your plan. Your Risk Control Consultant can also provide a plan evaluation.
      • Management
      • Recordkeeping
      • Analysis
      • Education & Training
      • Audit/Inspection
      • Accident Investigation
      • Program Reviews & Revision
    • Safety Policies.
      Safety Policies should be written and active, indicating creation and/or revision dates, and include a method of distribution to employees. The safety policies listed below are the minimum necessary elements of a strong Safety Program or Accident Prevention Plan.
      • Seatbelt Use
      • Handheld Device Use
      • Hazard Communication
      • DOT Drug and Alcohol
      • Blood Borne Pathogens
      • NOTE: Risk Control Consultants will verify the above criteria has been met. Members may request a risk control review. TAC RMP recognizes that the nature of many county jobs is hazardous, and loss ratios can be severely affected by a shock loss or through no fault of the employee. The Awards Committee will consider this during the selection process.
    Excellence in Safety Award

    An application is required for this award and will be presented to TAC RMP WC Program participants that have an annual Loss Ratio of 60% or less* (determined by the TAC RMP Awards Committee) and that demonstrate they have met the criteria listed below:

    • Meets criteria for Safety Achievement Award.
    • Active Safety Committee.
      Active Safety Committees should have documented meetings, no less than twice per year, and include meeting agendas indicating topics addressed. Committee documentation may include meeting sign-in sheets, agendas, commissioners court reports and any other documentation supporting the existence of an Active Safety Committee.
    • Core Training Topics​.
      Each core training topic should be presented at least one time per year and documented with staff sign-in sheets. The core training topics below reflect the minimum training necessary for an excellent safety program. Members seeking to apply for the Excellence in Safety Award must present at least 5 of the 12 topics listed below to qualify for this award.
      • Back Injury/Strains & Sprains Prevention
      • Slips, Trips, & Falls/ Ladder Safety
      • Driver Safety/DOT-Related Training (includes training related to law enforcement drivers)
      • Personal Protective Equipment
      • Fire Safety/Emergency Preparedness
      • HAZCOM
      • Office Safety
      • Bloodborne Pathogens
      • Outdoor Safety
      • Ergonomics
      • Workplace Violence/Active Shooter
      • Shop/Tool Safety
      • Note: Risk Control Consultants can verify the above criteria have been met. Members may request a Risk Control review. TAC RMP recognizes that the nature of many county jobs is hazardous, and loss ratios can be severely affected by a shock loss or through no fault of the employee. The Awards Committee will consider this during the selection process.
    Making a Difference Award

    No application is required for the Making a Difference Award. It is presented to a TAC RMP member employee who exhibits leadership in promoting loss prevention efforts in the county resulting in the reduction of claims and claims costs, not limited to safety. Candidates for the award are not only those responsible for safety efforts alone but also anyone, who, through dedication or creativity, has positively affected risk management efforts within the county.

    The Making a Difference Award is open to anyone deserving of recognition, from employees on the front lines, to management, and elected and appointed officials.
    Each TAC RMP Regional Service Team will nominate candidates for the Making a Difference Award based on their working knowledge of individuals who are:

    • Champions for progress in risk management and risk control.
    • Focused on implementing innovative initiatives aimed towards claims' cost reduction.

    Making a Difference Award candidates will be evaluated by a TAC Risk Management Services staff committee. Documented, proven and measurable contributions to risk control efforts will be considered favorably. One recipient will be selected from each region. Candidates must meet the following criteria:

    • Employee of a TAC RMP member in at least one line of coverage.
    • Employee of a TAC RMP member during the coverage year.
    Risk Control Consultants Assistance

    TAC Risk Control Consultants are available to all TAC RMP members to help with the application process for these awards and can assist members in developing and implementing:

    • Safety programs
    • Accident prevention plans
    • Safety policies
    • Active safety committees

    Consultants can provide topics and resources to support employee training efforts.

    Award Recipient Notification

    Awards will be announced and the recipients notified in February 2024.

    More Information

    Contact your Risk Control Consultant or Risk Management Consultant with questions regarding the TAC RMP Awards Program.