Home / Texas County Government / Texas County Officials

Texas County Officials

The Texas Constitution established a strong system of checks and balances by creating independent elective offices in each county. The major elective offices found in most counties include the commissioners court comprised of a county judge and four county commissioners, county and district attorneys, county and district clerks, county treasurers, sheriffs, tax assessor-collectors, justices of the peace and constables. As a part of the checks and balances system, counties have an auditor appointed by the district courts.

Learn more about each county office:

 Tax Assessor-Collector​
 County Commissioner  County Treasurer
 District & County Attorney  Justice of the Peace​
 District & County Clerk  Constable
 Sheriff  County Auditor
 Justice of the PeaceTax Assessor-CollectorDistrict & County ClerkJudgeSheriffCommissionerTreasurerDistrict & County AttorneyConstableAuditor

County Government Officials